Cedar Valley-Nauvoo Mission Center Conference Minutes October 14, 2023 – Cedar Valley Grove Campground

WELCOME

- Welcome by Kent LeVan and Evelyn Dustin, Co-Mission Center Presidents.
- Bishop Carla Long offered words of welcome on behalf of World Church.
- Evelyn Dustin offered a prayer of blessing over the conference.

CALL TO ORDER

- Kent LeVan called the conference to order at 1:17 PM with 49 people in attendance and a 2/3 vote total of 32.
- Motion by Kent LeVan to approve Gayla Burgess to serve as conference secretary. Second by Sue Wakefield. Vote taken, carried.
- Robert Cook assumed the chair and presented the Standing Rules for approval noting the addition of item #8 that stated, *Items of financial business, either new motions or amendments, that result in a budget change exceeding \$1,000 for the mission center or campgrounds must be submitted to the mission center financial officer thirty (30) days in advance of the financial conference in order to allow appropriate consideration by the committee(s) responsible for the budget(s), as well as the entire mission center.*
 - Motion by Brad Benge to approve the Standing Rules as presented. Second by Linda Hardy. Discussion on the proposed change included several concerns on the 30-day deadline and timing of release of the budgets prior to the financial conference.
 - Lee Wakefield called the question. Vote taken on whether the body was ready to vote on the original motion, carried.
 - Vote taken on the original motion with 16 votes to approve. Robert declared the motion failed as it did not receive the required two-thirds vote.

APPROVAL OF 2022 CONFERENCE MINUTES

- Kent LeVan assumed the chair.
- Motion by George Barber to approve the October 2022 mission center conference minutes as presented. Second by Pam Tisdale. Vote taken, carried.
- Motion by Linda Hardy to approve the December 2022 financial conference minutes as presented. Second by Shirley Spray. Vote taken, carried.

APPROVAL OF 2024 MISSION CENTER LEADERSHIP

- Carla Long, Bishop, assumed the chair and read a letter from World Church supporting Kent LeVan and Evelyn Dustin as Co-Mission Center Presidents.
 - Motion by Brad Benge to sustain Evelyn Dustin and Kent LeVan as Co-Mission Center Presidents. Second by Deb Luce. Vote taken, carried.
- Carla Long read a letter from World Church supporting Kent LeVan as Mission Center Financial Officer.
 - Motion by Jared Poplett to sustain Kent LeVan as Mission Center Financial Officer. Second by Claire Leonard. Vote taken with one nay vote. Motion carried.
 - Robert Cook and Carla Long offered a prayer of setting apart for Kent to serve as Mission Center Financial Officer.
- Carla Long read a letter from World Church supporting Pat Reaves as Mission Center Invitation Support Minister.
 - $_{\odot}$ $\,$ Motion by Paul Lindburg to sustain Pat Reaves as Mission Center Invitation Support Minister.
 - Second by Brad Benge. Vote taken, carried.
- Kent LeVan assumed the chair and thanked Robert Cook for his service.

- Motion by Chris McQuitty to sustain the Cedar Valley-Nauvoo Mission Center Council as presented. Second by Pam Tisdale.
 - Kent shared that Ron Howell will serve as Community Leader for Hannibal and New Canton and Brad/Julie Benge will serve as Community Leaders for Burlington, Keokuk, and Mt Pleasant.
 Vote taken, carried
 - Vote taken, carried.
- Motion by Deb Luce to approve Rex Sandidge as Counselor to the MC Financial Officer and Robert Cook as Assistant to the MC Financial Officer. Second by Brad Benge. Vote taken, carried.

ELECTION OF CAMPGROUND BOARD AND OPERATIONS GROUPS

- Robert Cook assumed the chair and clarified there were two open positions for three-year terms for the Campground Board.
 - Robert Cook nominated Dan Spray and Scott Gelande. Randy Reaves nominated Pat Reaves, Skylar Benge nominated Brad Benge, and Ashley Thompson nominated Pam Tisdale. Vote taken. Dan Spray and Scott Gelande were elected.
 - The 2024 Campground Board will consist of Todd Batey and Dale Warner (1-year terms), John Saur and Mark Parrott (2-year terms), Dan Spray and Scott Gelande (3-year terms), and Kent LeVan (MC Financial Officer) will serve ex-officio.
- Kent LeVan assumed the chair and clarified there were two open positions for three-year terms on the Cedar Valley Grove Operations Group.
 - Kent LeVan nominated Lisa Hill and Randy Reaves, Molly Crump nominated Kimberly Crump, and Gaelane Rosinski nominated Reed Hoke. Vote taken with a tie resulting for Randy Reaves and Reed Hoke. Second vote taken between Randy and Reed. Lisa Hill and Randy Reaves were elected.
 - The 2024 CVG Operations Group will consist of George Barber and Rick Enright (1-year terms), Gaelane Rosinski and Pam Tisdale (2-year terms), Lisa Hill and Randy Reaves (3-year terms). Kent LeVan (MC Financial Officer), Dan Spray (MC President Representative), Roger Reid (Special Appointment to Chair), and Cathy Reeves (Special Appointment to Treasurer) will serve ex-officio.
- Evelyn Dustin assumed the chair and clarified there were two open positions for three-year terms on the Camp Nauvoo Operations Group.
 - Evelyn Dustin nominated Lynn Poplett and Deb Batey and Ashley Thompson nominated Pam Tisdale. Vote taken. Deb Batey and Lynn Poplett were elected.
 - The 2024 Camp Nauvoo Operations Group will consist of Carol Brooks and Lee Ourth (1-year terms), Brad Benge and Doug Howell (2-year terms), and Deb Batey and Lynn Poplett (3-year terms). Kent LeVan (MC Financial Officer), Evely Dustin (MC President Representative), and Dawn Durgin (Resident Manager) will serve ex-officio.

PRESENTATION OF NEW BUSINESS

- Kent LeVan assumed the chair and presented the following motion from Scott Gelande: *I move that the Cedar Valley-Nauvoo Mission Center annual conference shall conduct the conference worship service and both the leadership and financial portions of the conference on the same day and in-person.* Second by Molly Crump.
 - Discussion included several comments in support of the motion as well as concerns of the length of the day when combined into one event.
 - Lee Wakefield called the question. Vote taken on whether the body was ready to vote on the original motion, carried.
 - Vote taken on the original motion, carried.
 - Kent clarified that the 2024 mission center conference would be held at Camp Nauvoo either in late October or early November to allow for the camp/reunion accounts to be closed out and the proposed 2025 budget prepared.

ADJOURNMENT

- Bishop Carla Long shared a prayer of sending forth.Kent LeVan declared the conference adjourned at 2:26 PM.